The Voice Of Leeward Oahu


Ewa Neighborhood Board will reorganize itself in face of looming development

Posted August 5, 2013 by Pat in Community

Under constant pressure to develop the Ewa plain, the Ewa Neighborhood Board will gear up by installing new officers, electing a new chairman, and selecting new delegates for its standing committees at their next general meeting. The standing committees are:

  • Intergovernmental Affairs, Human Services, and Legislative
  • Parks, Education, Sports & Arts
  • Planning, Permitting, Zoning, Environmental, Public Works & Sustainability
  • Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization (OMPO) Citizens Advisory
  • Transportation
  • Public Safety and Economic Development

At the board’s meeting on July 11, 2013, these new officers were elected: Vice-chairman – Joe Hartsell, Secretary – Jessie Weinberger, and Treasurer – Alex Bresslauer. The newcomers who will serve in leadership capacities will be challenged by issues arising from new developments as well as old ones in the area. The Ewa Village  needs room for expansion, and Varona Village needs renovation and repair. The Hoopili housing project still needs infrastructural planning; HART,  the new rail system, comes with environmental and historical problems; and Haseko and the Hunt Corporation have plans for new developments. In addition, there is the need for better parks, more schools, and solutions for homelessness.

Government officials or their representatives from the U.S. military and city and state governments also will be appearing at the board meeting. These people will be in attendance:

  • The Marine Corps Base Hawaii – Ms. Tiffany Patrick MCBH Community Plans & Liaison Officer
  • Mayor Kirk Caldwell’s representative – Ms. Pamela Witty-Oakland
  • Council member District 1 – Ms. Kymberly Pine
  • Council member District 9 – Mr. Ron Menor
  • Board of Water Supply Mr. Keoni Mattos
  • Governor Abercrombie’s representative – Ms. Leila A. Kagawa
  • Senate District 19 – Sen. Will Espero
  • Senate District 20 – Sen. Mike Gabbard
  • House Representative District 40 – Rep. Bob McDermott
  • House Representative District 41 – Rep. Rida Cabanilla

The public is permitted to present opinions and ask questions during this part of the meeting.  The board will meet on Thursday, August 8, 2013, at the Ewa Beach Public and School Library, 91-950 North Road, Ewa Beach at 7:00 P.M. The public is invited to participate.

About the Author


Pat Pang (Nozaki) is a retired DOE secondary school teacher who taught school in Waianae for almost 40 years. She has served the community as a member of the Waianae Neighborhood Board and as a delegate to the 1978 Hawaii State Constitutional Convention. She was raised on the Nanakuli Hawaiian Homestead and resided in Waianae during her years as a teacher.


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.